WIP WEDNESDAY: Miette

I’d been saving up all summer for a new dress, and it finally arrived on Monday.

 

Cute, right?

Cute, right?

Since our office has the temperature of a meat locker (and since Winter Is Coming, John Snow), I decided to knit a cardigan to go with it.  I opted for Miette, a cardigan designed by Andi Satterlund, since it was simple enough, it was a top-down raglan (easiest sweater in the world to knit), and the pattern was free.  Plus, I like Andi’s patterns.  Some people are stans for celebrities; apparently I am a stan for knitwear designers.

I knit this from Spud & Chloe Sweater in (I believe) Lake.  I used yarn that I recycled from my ill-fated attempt to make the Rayleigh Tee from Knitscene.  

In working on this, I learned that I vastly prefer working lace with charts.  Whenever I have to include lace in something with written instructions, it takes me a few tries to get the lace to work right.

2007-12-31 23.00.00-13

Wonky lace is wonky.

asymmetry

The lace pattern on the right was supposed to be staggered. I guess it looks like I have a butterfly on my shoulder now?

On the bright side, the sweater fits me, and I learned another way to make a boob vent.  Way to go, me.

2007-12-31 23.00.00-16This should be done in time for next week’s FO Friday.  Since it’s knit from heavy worsted and starting to get huge, I may put this aside for subway knitting and make this my at-home project.  We’ll see.

 

Leave a Reply

