MOTHBALLIN’ MONDAY: Eileen Mary-Mother-of-God

What it is: Eileen Mary by Ellen Mason

Why I made it: I had just binge-watched Twin Peaks and wanted a red sweater with a dramatic collar, like the one Audrey Horne wore.

Basically, I want Audrey's entire wardrobe.  And Agent Cooper, while we're at it.

Basically, I want Audrey’s entire wardrobe. And Agent Cooper, while we’re at it.

When I went through Ravelry, Eileen Mary jumped out at me.  I had six plump skeins of Cascade 220 in my stash, so why not?

This is why not.

This is why not.

Assets and liabilities: I think the red looks nice on me, and I like a lot of the details.  However, I knit it at too tight a gauge, so the dramatic collar kept rolling up north and whacking me in the face, like so.  The fit through the collar and shoulders is weird, too.  (That picture above is with the back button fastened.)  I’m not crazy about bottom-up raglan sleeve sweaters, since you can’t check the fit while you’re working.

Frogging or donating?  Frogging.  I’m going to make Myrna with the yarn, and also put some aside so I can finish my mom’s Christmas present.  This was the last of the Peruvian spun Cascade 220, and I haven’t been as happy with the brand’s quality since they moved production to China.  Why waste good resources, right?

Lessons learned: Make sure the gauge works for what you’re making!  I was able to adjust my gauge to make this work, but I knitted so tight, and I think that’s why I had some of the problems that I did.

Leave a Reply

