FO Friday: The yarn wants what it wants

In the post-tax day season, I bought myself a Frolic Skirt as an early birthday gift.  

 

Image

The summer issue of Knitscene came out not long after that, and when I saw the Sundial Tee, I realized it would look adorable with my new schmatte.  

 

Image

I wasn’t crazy about the wide armholes, as my underarms aren’t something I enjoy showing the world.  Additionally, my one experience with Malabrigo Lace was not one I cared to repeat.  Instead, I chose a DK-weight yarn for the project — Cascade Ultra Pima in shocking pink.  My gauge came out to 5 stitches to the inch, and I knit the smallest size. 

As I’ve said before, I modified the pattern quite a bit.  I worked slipped-stitch “seams” along the sides to stabilize the shirt.  When I got to the bust area, I worked short-row bust darts so that my shirt wouldn’t ride up in the front.  I also worked short-rows through the shoulders, three-needle bound off the shoulder seams, and did i-cord edging for the collar.  The sleeves were the hardest part — I had fewer stitches than the pattern called for and I just kind of winged it. 

This is how my Sundial Tee came out:

Image

Image

I’m generally proud of how the top fits me!  The yarn was a dream to work with and the top looks and feels great.  The sleeves do give me pause, though.  I’d like to find a sleeve that might look a little more flattering.  Thoughts? 

2 thoughts on “FO Friday: The yarn wants what it wants

  1. That is incredibly cute! What don’t you like about the sleeve? The length? I find that length very useful as it looks great with a long-sleeved tshirt in cooler weather.

  2. I’m still new to sweater knitting myself. Sleeves are not really my friends…yet, so no suggestions about them from me. I do like the look of the skirt and sweater together though! Nice job!

Leave a Reply

