Playing catch-up: Knitting and Crochet Blog Week, Day 7

One year from now, when the 5th Knitting & Crochet Blog Week rolls around, where do you hope your crafting will have taken you to? What new skills, projects and experiences do you hope you might have conquered or tried?

Guys…can I admit something? I am deathly afraid of colorwork.  Okay, not all colorwork — I made a pair of Fair Isle mittens last year that weren’t as traumatizing as I had initially feared.  At this point in my life, I can live happily knowing that I will never steek, but I know that my crippling fear of intarsia is interfering with my knitting life.

Kind of.

I’ve always wanted to own an Elsa Schiaparelli-inspired bow knot sweater, but the few patterns I’ve found have involved intarsia.  My skills at intarsia are not what they should be.  Despite my best efforts at twisting the plies together, I still end up with holes in my garments.  Also, I am really terrible at seaming, and since intarsia patterns have to be knit in pieces…well, you get the idea.  By this time next year, I’d like to be better at intarsia.

Reading that last paragraph, it also occurs to me that getting better at seaming might not be a horrible idea.  I frequently roll my eyes at Amy Herzog’s devotion to sewing sweaters in pieces, which doesn’t allow for knitters to try on their sweaters and make sure they fit and, yes, flatter, but figuring out how to piece a sweater together and sew it well wouldn’t be a horrible skill to perfect.

Additionally, my pal Nicole and I had a grand time at a beginning embroidery class hosted by Gather Here.  I’d love to add some embroidered accoutrements to my handknits as well.

I have so much to learn in the next 365 days, don’t I?

Leave a Reply

